Page MenuHomePhabricator

Public | Why do some users lose their jobs when uninstall / reinstall?
Open, Needs TriagePublic

Description

I suspect this has something to do with the install for All Users / Just Myself option.

The installer used to say it was installing just for the current user, but was really doing All Users. I found the installer script was using the values backwards. Perhaps this is the cause of the new problems. In the past, they'd installed by default for All Users, thinking it was just for them, but now they really install just for them and so Replicator is looking into the wrong AppData folder?

Event Timeline

Joe created this task.Mar 17 2019, 11:24 AM
Joe created this object in space S5 Public.
Joe created this object with visibility "Public (No Login Required)".
Joe added a comment.Mar 18 2019, 2:30 PM

Well, it definitely does store the backup on the desktop of the public user when installed as For All Users. I still haven't been able to get it to fail, though. These are the same configuration files from C:\Users\Joe\AppData\Local\Karen's Power Tools\Replicator\

Joe added a comment.Mar 18 2019, 2:34 PM

I can't get it to fail. Umm... I'm not sure where to go from here.